Kwara government to host multi-stakeholder security dialogue

  • Dakas SAN, traditional rulers, JNI, CAN, others for confab

Kwara State Government will on Thursday hold a multi-stakeholder security dialogue in Ilorin, the state capital, a proactive step designed to further concretise its efforts to strengthen security and hasten socioeconomic development.

The dialogue comes amid nationwide efforts, including increasing regional arrangements, to address emerging security challenges. Kwara is also part of the ongoing talks by the North Central Governments to deepen security.

“The security dialogue at this critical time is to bring all stakeholders on board and educate the citizens on the prevailing security challenges in the country and the need to brainstorm on strategies in tackling them headlong,” Rafiu Ajakaye, chief press secretary to Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, said in a statement on Thursday.

The organising committee for the event comprises former military administrator Gen. S. T. Bello (chairman); the Chief of Staff to the Governor Adisa Logun; Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice Salman Jawondo; Commissioner for Finance and Planning Oyeyemi Olasumbo Florence; Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs Aisha Ahman Pategi; Special Adviser Special Duties Yinka Aluko; Senior Adviser and Counsellor Kale Belgore; and Special Adviser Political Saadu Salau.

Other members include Permanent Secretary (Political and Cabinet); representatives of the Commissioner of Police, Director of the Department of State Services, NSCDC, Army, Navy, Air Force, Immigration Service, NDLEA, Prison Service, Nigerian Customs Service, Kwara State Fire Service, FRSC; and Students’ Unions. The secretariat is manned by director of Special Services in the state’s civil service.

Dakas Dakas (SAN), a renowned professor of law, will keynote the event which is tagged ‘towards strengthening the security architecture in Kwara State: exploring community initiatives’.

Participants include delegations from Kwara State House of Assembly; Kwara Sate Judiciary; government bodies, professional organisations, pressure groups and civil society organisations such as the NOA, NBA, NUJ, FIDA, RATH, NLC, TUC, Legal Aid Council; political parties; three traditional rulers per local government; and directors of personnel management in the 16 LGAs.

The participants also include all the security service chiefs in the state; religious bodies such as JNI, CAN; faith-based organisations like FOMWAN, Ansarul -Islam, Ansar-Ud-Deen; community organisations like the IEDPU, LADDU, SHEDDU, TSEDU, Egbe Omo Ibile Igbomina, Offa Descendants Union, ODA, BUSUNENO, women groups; National Association of Kwara State Students; Okada riders association; Nigerian Legion; Miyetti Allah; Vigilante groups; market men and women; River Niger Ferry and boat operators association; Fulani, Hausa and Igbo communities, Alejo parapo; and transporters’ unions, among others.

Previous articleDon’t rely on govt for jobs, FG tells unemployed graduates
Next articleWhy I sacked Farida Waziri as EFCC boss – Ex-President Jonathan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here