Governor Abiodun appoints eight permanent secretaries


Ogun State Governor Dapo Abiodun has announced the appointment of eight permanent secretaries to reposition the state public service for greater efficiency and effectiveness.

But sixteen old permanent secretaries retained their portfolios and 12 others swapped ministries, agencies and parastatals in a major reshuffle since Abiodun assumed office in May.

On Friday, when the immediate past Head of Service, Lanre Bisiriyu, alongside 11 permanent secretaries, bowed out of the public service, the governor promised that he would apply merit in appointing the new leadership of the state civil service bureaucracy.

The new permanent secretaries were chosen from the directors’ cadre and they include Ms. Fadimitu Olusola, Ojetola Razak, Mr. Sodeinde Olukunle and Sotubo Olurotimi.

The others are: Orekoya Bolaji, Lukan Jubril, Benson Lateef and Sorunke Dotun.

Dotun, a veterinary doctor, was assigned to be in charge of the Ministry of Agriculture. Until his appointment, he was director of Veterinary Services in the same ministry.

Olurotimi was posted to the Ministry of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs. He holds degrees in Sociology and Social Works and was Director of Social Welfare in the Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Welfare.

The new permanent secretary for the Ministry of Housing is Mr. Orekoya Bolaji, a trained estate manager and a member of the Institute of Revenue Rating and Valuation.

Ms. Fatudimu Olushola is the new permanent secretary, Ministry of Community Development and Cooperatives. Mr. Ojetola Rasa is the new Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment.

Also appointed Permanent Secretary is Mr. Benson Lateef for the Ministry of Forestry. His counterpart in the Ministry of Rural Development is Mr. Lukan Olukunle, who was elevated from a director at the Bureau of Lands and Survey.

The former director of finance and accounts at the Hospital Management Board, Mr. Sodeinde Olukunle, will resume as Permanent Secretary at the Bureau of State Pensions. Also retained in their previous offices are: Ademolake (Works and Infrastructure), Dr. Adesanya Ayinde (Health), Kunle Osota (Local Government and Chieftancy Affairs), Dr. Nafiu Aigoro (Hospital Management Board) and Mrs. Mojisola Dosunmu (Teaching Service Commission).

Also to continue to function in their present ministries and agencies are: Mrs. Irene Kokumo (Bureau of Local Government Pensions), Mr. Dolapo Odulana (Bureau of Protocol and Ceremonials), Dr. Kasali Olabimtan (Local Government Service Commission); Mrs. Yetunde Oresanya (Ministry of Justice) and Dr. (Mrs.) Oluranti Oladeinde (Women Affairs and Social Development).

Previous articleCBN slashes bank charges
Next articleLagos governor to commission new VIS operational headquarters


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here